Students Inducted to Cum Laude Society

Casady School inducted 12 new members to the Cum Laude Society during a ceremony in St. Edward's Chapel. The eight seniors and seven juniors were chosen by a nominating committee to be a part of the international honor society.
Cum Laude recognizes scholarship and stresses excellence, justice, and honor. Election to membership is limited to no more than 10 percent of the junior class and 20 percent of the senior class.

“The students who were inducted to the Cum Laude Society have demonstrated excellence in their academic work, good character, honor and integrity in all aspects of their school life,” said Julieta Zesiger, president of the Casady School Chapter of the Cum Laude Society and Chair of the Upper Division Science Department. “I am so proud of these outstanding students for the difficulty of the curriculum they have chosen and for their enthusiasm for learning. They work hard inside and outside of the classroom, and their work is recognized with their induction to the society."

The Cum Laude Society is an international academic fraternity with chapters at a number of public and independent schools. Founded in 1906, the Cum Laude Society is dedicated to honoring scholastic achievement in secondary schools. The founders of the society modeled Cum Laude after Phi Beta Kappa and in the years since its founding, Cum Laude has grown to 382 chapters, approximately two dozen of which are located in public schools and the rest in Independent schools. The society's motto is Areté, Diké, Timé, which translates from Greek into "Excellence, Justice, Honor."

The Casady School chapter started in 1961. At Casady, the prime criteria for election has been the quality of the curriculum the candidate has chosen and the number and enthusiasm of nominations made on behalf of the individual student by the Upper Division faculty and current Cum Laude student members. Each year, the selection committee asks the faculty and current members to nominate students who have demonstrated excellence in their academic work, good character, honor and integrity in all aspects of their school life. The students chosen bear the respect of the faculty as well as their peers. Each student received several nominations.

New members from the senior class are: Vinay Chandrasekaran, Blake Gerard, Kiki Greene, Linus Park, Muhammad Saadah, Riley Stayton, Cyrus Steppe, and Philip Whitmarsh. Juniors elected to Cum Laude are: Luke Albert, Katherine Henry, Angela Jarjoura, Aidan Raikar, and Tara Ramakrishnan. Those from the senior class who were inducted as juniors in 2016 include: Josh Britt, Claire Darrow, Caitlyn Greene, Symon Ma, Jack Ryan, Calvin Tolbert, and Barry Zhang.

Guest speaker for the celebration was Jolie Britt.

Congratulations to all of Casady's Cum Laude Society inductees.
Casady School is an independent, co-educational, college preparatory, Episcopal day school serving students in pre-k-12. Educating Mind, Body, and Spirit.